ANNUAL CONVENTION MEETING MINUTES

Thirty-Ninth Annual Convention

Thursday, August 4, 2022 7:00 p.m. 725 W. Park Avenue, Chippewa Falls, WI



Where service and leadership unite,

Upon request, reasonable auxiliary aids and services will be provided for individuals with disabilities. If accommodations are required, please provide 24-hour notice by calling 715-720-2023.

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by temporary Chairperson, Mike Haynes at 7:02 p.m.

2. The Notice of Convention was read by Mike Haynes, CESA 10 Administrator.

The 39th Annual Convention is being called as required by State Statue 116.02(1). The meeting was noticed in the Eau Claire Leader Telegram and Chippewa Herald. State statutes require an annual convention comprised of one voting member from each member district, as selected by their resident School Board.

The secretary of the Board of Control will serve as the non-voting recorder of our meeting. The primary purpose of the annual convention is to elect members to fill the expired/vacated terms of the Board of Control, resulting in an 11-member Board of Control which then serves as the governing board of CESA 10.

3. Introduction of CESA 10 Directors

Mike Haynes introduced the CESA 10 Directors in attendance.

4. Announcements

Mike Haynes recognized district administrators and visiting board members. Dr. Joan Wade was recognized as the guest speaker for the evening.

5. Roll Call – 19 delegates present: 10 absent

- P Eric Brodhagen, Abbotsford School District
- P Nicole Breed, Altoona School District
- P Angie Henrich, Augusta School District
- P Janelle Glenn, Bloomer School District
- A Andrea Vohs, Bruce School District
- P Cory LaNou, Cadott School District
- P Dennis Fehr, Chippewa Falls School District
- P Cheryl Ploeckelman, Colby School District
- P Eileen Sikora, Cornell School District
- P Phil Lyons, Eau Claire Area School District
- A Kristen Husby, Eleva-Strum School District
- P Brock Wright, Fall Creek School District
- A Daniel Kopacz, Flambeau School District
- P Valorie Kulesa, Gilman School District
- A Daren Bauer, Gilmanton School District
- P Dennis Kuehn, Granton Area School District
- A Mark Shain, Greenwood School District
- A Chrysa Ostenso, Ladysmith School District

- P Matt Flater, Lake Holcombe School District
 P Carrie Becker, Loyal School District
 A Dave Fleegel, Medford Area School District
 A Jean Sandberg, Mondovi School District
 P Deanna Heiman, Neillsville School District
 P Louise Cody, New Auburn School District
 P Rozanne Traczek, Osseo-Fairchild School District
 P Charlie Milliren, Owen-Withee School District
 A Becky Gorst, Spencer School District
 P Lansing Carlson, Stanley-Boyd School District
 A Eric Werner, Thorp School District
- 6. Election of Convention Chairperson

Nomination by Val Kulesa to nominate Deanna Heiman as Convention Chairperson.

Motion by Rozanne Traczek with a second by Eileen Sikora to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Deanna Heiman as Convention Chairperson. Voice Vote Taken. Motion Carried.

7. Call to Order by Convention Chairperson

The Thirty-Ninth Annual Convention of CESA 10 was called to order by Chairperson Deanna Heiman at 7:08 pm.

8. Adoption of Robert's Rules of Order

Motion by Phil Lyons with a second by Val Kulesa to adopt Robert's Rules of Order for conducting the convention proceedings. Voice Vote Taken. Motion Carried.

9. Approval of Minutes of August 5, 2021 Annual Convention

Motion by Cheryl Ploeckelman with a second by Rozanne Traczek to approve the minutes of the August 5, 2021 Annual Convention. Voice Vote Taken. Motion Carried.

10. Explanation of Board of Control Election

An explanation of the number of seats to be elected to the Board of Control and method of election was given by Deanna Heiman. There are six vacant seats, four seats are three-year terms and two seats are one-year terms.

11. Delegates Who Have Expressed Interest In Serving On the Board of Control

The following delegates expressed interest in serving on the Board of Control:

Nicole Breed – Altoona School District
Deanna Heiman – Neillsville School District
Kristen Husby – Eleva-Strum School District
Val Kulesa – Gilman School District
Charlie Milliren – Owen-Withee School District
Eileen Sikora – Cornell School District

- 11a. Delegates were given an opportunity to express his or her interest in serving on the Board of Control.
- 12. Caucus

13. Election

The election clerks distributed, collected, and counted the paper ballots.

- 14. Dr. Joan Wade, Executive Director for the Association of Educational Service Agencies (AESA) presented.
- 15. Announcement of the Fortieth Annual Convention

Motion by Phil Lyons with a second by Eileen Sikora to hold the Fortieth Annual Convention on Thursday, August 3, 2023. Voice Vote Taken. Motion Carried.

16. Announcement of Election Results

The following delegates were elected to serve a three-year term on the Board of Control: Deanna Heiman, Val Kulesa, Eileen Sikora, and Kristen Husby.

The following delegates were elected to serve a one-year term on the Board of Control: Nicole Breed and Charlie Milliren

17. Announcement of Board of Control Organizational Meeting immediately following the Delegate Assembly.

18. Adjourn

Motion by Val Kulesa with a second by Rozanne Traczek to adjourn the Thirty-Ninth Annual Convention at 7:47 p.m. Voice Vote Taken. Motion Carried.